Links Roundup: Presidential Candidates Share Their Disability Policy Plans

“Standing up and fighting for the disability community is not a partisan or a political issue; it’s an issue of right and wrong, of going backwards or moving forward.” – Julián Castro

Although California’s presidential primary election won’t be held until March 3, 2020 it is never too early to start learning about the candidates and how they might help or hurt the disability community. For the first time that I can recall the majority of presidential candidates have issued disability specific policy guides. Candidates are talking about every aspect of life with a disability – education, employment, housing, healthcare, transportation, voting rights, social security reform and improvement, in home support, mental health, disaster preparedness, police interaction, criminal justice, engaging in disability policy on the global stage, and more – this is a major shift from previous elections. This shift indicates that people with disabilities are finally being recognized for the contributions we make and the challenges we face in America.

This links roundup includes the candidates’ disability specific policy plans (when available) as well as their broader policy plans. Please read them at your leisure, discuss them with your friends and family, and vote on March 3rd.

Candidates with Disability Specific Policy Plans

Democratic Candidates:

Joe Biden on disability: https://joebiden.com/disabilities/
Biden’s other policies: https://joebiden.com/joes-vision/

Cory Booker on disability: https://corybooker.com/issues/equality-for-people-with-disabilities/
Booker’s other policies: https://corybooker.com/issues/

Steve Bullock on disability: https://stevebullock.com/accessibility/
Bullock’s other policies: https://stevebullock.com/fair-shot-agenda/

Pete Buttigieg on disability: https://peteforamerica.com/policies/access/
Buttigieg’s other policies: https://peteforamerica.com/issues/

Julián Castro on disability: https://issues.juliancastro.com/equality-for-people-with-disabilities/
Castro’s other policies: https://issues.juliancastro.com

Kamala Harris on disability: https://kamalaharris.org/policies/people-with-disabilities/full-policy/
Harris’s other policies: https://kamalaharris.org/policies/

Bernie Sanders on disability: https://berniesanders.com/issues/disability-rights/
Sander’s other policies: https://berniesanders.com/issues/

Joe Sestak on disability: https://www.joesestak.com/issues/disability-rights/
Sestak’s other policies: https://www.joesestak.com/plan-for-america/

Elizabeth Warren on disability: https://tinyurl.com/vn8xzmg
Warren’s other policies: https://tinyurl.com/s8ojr84

Marianne Williamson on disability: https://www.marianne2020.com/issues/disability-justice
Williamson’s other policies: https://www.marianne2020.com/issues

Candidates without Disability Specific Policy Plans

Incumbent Donald Trump: https://www.promiseskept.com

Republican Challengers:

Joe Walsh: https://www.joewalsh.org
Bill Weld: https://weld2020.org

Democratic Candidates:

Michael Bennet: https://michaelbennet.com/vision/
John Delaney*: https://www.johndelaney.com/issues/
Tulsi Gabbard: https://www.tulsi2020.com/record
Amy Klobuchar: https://amyklobuchar.com/policies/
Wayne Messam : https://wayneforusa.com
Tom Steyer: https://www.tomsteyer.com
Andrew Yang: https://www.yang2020.com/policies/

*Mr. Delaney has a mental health policy platform: https://www.johndelaney.com/issues/mental-health/

National Voter Registration Day is TOMORROW are You Registered to Vote?

National Voter Registration Day is tomorrow, Tuesday, September 24th.

Register to Vote

The disability community relies heavily on government services yet, people with disabilities vote less often than non-disabled people. According to a recent study, if people with disabilities voted at the same rate as people without disabilities who have the same demographic characteristics, there would be about 2.35 million more voters nationally.

Voting is an important way we have a say in our government and therefore our lives. If you’ve recently moved, turned 18, or changed your name please take this opportunity to update your voter registration, it only takes a few moments.

There are barriers that we face as people with disabilities when voting. Polling places can be inaccessible, if we are conserved there are legal matters to consider. Some of us may even be hospitalized on Election Day. The best way to get around these barriers is to know your rights in advance. Visit DisabilityVoteCA.org to learn about your rights and please share this information with your friends and family members with disabilities.